4wd not working *solved*

Anything related to the stock drivetrain, engine, transmission, axles, wheels...

Moderator: F9K9

nuddybuddy
Regular
Regular

4wd not working *solved*

Post by nuddybuddy »

hello, I a newbie to this site.

I bought a rebuilder 2004 cc gmc sonoma 14,000 miles I have been working on. I been testing the 4wd to pull into my garage (on an incline w/gravel 4wd works fine in both hi an lo.

Today I drove down a 10 foot incline. When I was coming out the truck spun. I kicked it in 4hi and drove up the incline about a foot and I heard a loud clank noise like it popped out or something. I only had 2wd. I put it in 4lo and nothing. I can hear it changing over when I hit 4hi and 4lo but I have no 4wd. the vaccum thing goes up when I engage it.

all help and info greatly app.
Walt
Admin K Elite
Admin K Elite

Post by Walt »

I'm no expert here, but the clank you heard is probably the locker in the rear diff engaging if your truck is equipped with one (check for the G80 code in the glovebox). Your 4wd problem might not have anything to do with the clank.

The reason I say that is because if you truck is equipped with the factory Eaton locker, one wheel will spin for a sec, and the locker will engage, but if the wheel is moving more than 2 or 3 mph, the locker will make a loud clanking noise once when the other wheel engages.

Also, try totally disconnecting your battery for 10 minutes or so and see if that helps.

Just a thought. Maybe some of the more technically astute members on here can troubleshoot further....
--Walt
2001 S-10 CrewCab - Retired...
nuddybuddy
Regular
Regular

Post by nuddybuddy »

I disconnected the positve side for 1/2hr. rehooked it up and tried the 4wd out and nothing.
killian96ss
Crew K Elite
Crew K Elite

Post by killian96ss »