Going up!

Fitting oversize tires, raising and lowering, suspension modifications...

Moderator: F9K9

jajwrigh
Crew
Crew

Going up!

Post by jajwrigh »

After reading this site for awhie, I have decided to get lifted! I think that I will go with the 2" bl for starters and then with a bds or superlift kit. I do have some questions though. Will this look ok with 29s or 30s? How do I know the backspacing that I need? What is this t-bar mod I always read about? Is it difficult to do? Are there any disadvantages? What are shackles and add-a-leafs? I am new to 4x4 suspension so please bear with me. Thanks guys! 8)
[size=75]2004 Zr5[/size]
Walt
Admin K Elite
Admin K Elite

Post by Walt »

A body will look OK with stock tires...but you'll get sick of them pretty soon, especially with the extra clearance. You can fit 30's on stock wheels with no problems. 31's will fit but will rub the inside of the fender well. If you go with a wheel with less offset than stock, you'll rub more. If you want to run 31's, stick with the stock wheels.

The Torsion Bar crank is very easy. If you can turn a wrench, use a jack, and read a tape measure, it can easily be done. Check out the "mods" page on this site. There's a write up about Torsion Bars.

After messing the Torsion bars, an alignment will be required.

Take a look at your leaf springs under the back of your truck. The black bracket that connects the leaf springs to the frame is a shackle (it's to the rear of the truck). Getting a longer set of those will increase your ride height in the rear.

Add-a-leaf kits actually add one or several more springs under your leaf springs. To me, the easier way to go is the shackle lift, but the AAL can actually improve load carrying from what I hear.
--Walt
2001 S-10 CrewCab - Retired...
Retep
Crew Elite
Crew Elite

Post by Retep »