Upper Control Arm Bushings, Eating Crow.

Anything related to the stock drivetrain, engine, transmission, axles, wheels...

Moderator: F9K9

JaVeRo
Crew Elite
Crew Elite

Upper Control Arm Bushings, Eating Crow.

Post by JaVeRo »

During the Christmas/New Years long weekends I replaced the ball joints and upper control arm bushings on my wifes 2001 CC mail truck. 13 months since the last time this was done. I'm still learning and have found something contradictory to a previous post. I also figured out that Brule is a smart man but I doubt that suprises anyone.

I had recommended the Energy Suspension bushings in This thread, Brule was quick to point out that having to install the bushing on the old sleeves was not a good idea.

The Energy Suspension bushing I installed in the lower control arms were still in great shape, they came installed in new sleeves, but the upper bushings allowed the control arm to slide about an 1/8 inch as shown in these two pictures. I have a short movie clip of it if anyone is interested.
ImageImage
They didn't start out with slack in them and I am not sure how long it took for them to start sliding.

Here is a picture of the Energy Suspension bushing I took out on the left. The Moog K6418 problem solver (thermoplastic) in the center, and the Moog K6283 (rubber) on the right. The K6283 should be basically the same as stock. The metal lip of the left bushing was hung on the lip of the center bushing by mistake but you can still see the difference. I installed the K6418 thermoplastic. I will let you know next year how well it held up. Killian96ss had recommended the K6418 in the same thread mentioned above.