Fuel Pump Reset?

The stock systems

Moderator: F9K9

CJE

Fuel Pump Reset?

Post by CJE »

I have a 2003 ZR5 S10 and I cannot start it at the moment because after I charged the battery, I couldn't hear the fuel pump starting, and thus cannot start my truck. I'm not that experienced with Chevy (or vehicles in general ,really) so I apologize in advance if the answer to this question is common knowledge but here goes:

Is there a fuel pump reset switch or button located anywhere under the hood or in the fuse center?

I know this fuel pump isn't bad. I have never experienced any problems with it. I just think because my battery was so dead that my numerous attempts to start it (while starting the fuel pump so many times) may have triggered some sort of emergency shut off switch? If anyone knows how to fix this, any input at all would be greatly appreciated.
HenryJ
Admin K Elite
Admin K Elite

Re: Fuel Pump Reset?

Post by HenryJ »

Sorry, there is no emergency cut-off switch. While it is possible that the fuse or relay (located in the under hood electrical center) could be bad, I suspect that you will find your fuel pump has failed.

Believe it or not, it makes perfect sense that repeatedly trying to start it with a weak battery could have contributed to its failure. The TSB on pump failures relates their problem to insufficient voltage due to the small terminals in the electrical connector. New Delphi pumps include a replacement electrical connector with larger terminals.

After market "cheap" pumps may not last more than a few months. I took very good care of my original pump and it did not make 80k miles. No warning or symptoms when it died.

"Speed doesn't kill, suddenly becoming stationary does." - Richard Hammond
"Speed is just a matter of Money - How fast do YOU want to go?"-Mechanic from Mad Max-
If at first you don't succeed - Don't take up Skydiving!
- ThunderII KE7CSK
CJE

Post by CJE »

Do I even want to ask what these cost to fix?
CJE

Post by CJE »